First Post!

Aloha! This is my first post on my blog/website! I really don’t know how to begin and I’m really not sure what to call this: a blog or a website. It is a bit of both because my posts will be in a blog style but it is set up like a website on here. Either way, I’m really excited to start this even though I have no idea what I’m doing! That’s pretty much my life right now, not having any idea what I’m doing.

I’m in the process of getting my master’s degree in mechanical engineering and my day to day life consists of having all of these ideas on what to do for my project and having no idea how to do what I’m supposed to do. Sometimes I seem to get things working but other times I can’t seem to get anything right. I guess that’s normal? Anyway, it’s been quite a journey so far and I know it’s going to be difficult because they can’t just give away master’s degrees to just anyone. I just hope it is going to be worth it in the end.

This blog/website is not only about being an engineering student or being a woman in the engineering field but it is also about being an engineer in a woman’s world as well. I love being creative and doing arts & crafts. I also love dressing up nice and doing my hair and makeup. It seems (at least to me) that some of the women in the engineering world don’t enjoy those things and that there’s a clear separation between women in the STEM fields and women in more artistic fields. I wish that wasn’t the case because sometimes I feel like I’m the only female engineer out there that enjoys being a girly-girl. I know that’s really not the case but it seems that way sometimes. I feel like I either need to choose to be a tomboy-ish engineer or a girly non-engineer. I mean I know this is a free country and I can do whatever the heck I want and I don’t have to care what other people think of me, but sometimes I feel a bit lost. Hopefully this blog will help me piece the seemingly separate parts of my life together. That’s really what this is all about anyway. I don’t really care if I get a lot of followers (although it would be nice to share this with other people), all I really care about is that I can organize my interests in one place and talk about all of the things I love.

Okay well that’s enough for one post. Thanks for reading (if you actually stuck with me through this whole thing)!

~Valerie

4 responses to “First Post!

Leave a Reply

