Learn to code for free!

Two friends and I were talking one night about a bunch of different things and somehow programming came up. One of my friends is also a mechanical engineer so we were probably talking about engineering related stuff. My other friend is not an engineer but she wanted to learn how to code and she found this website called Codecademy which is an education company that specializes in teaching programming for free. The languages they specialize in are HTML/CSS, JavaScript, PHP, Python, Ruby, and APIs. These languages are very powerful in designing interactive websites. Some of the languages can also be used in other types of applications. I decided to check it out when my friend told me about it because I was looking for coding tutorials for my research project to help me understand object oriented programming and the basis of Visual Studio to be able to design a user interface for communicating machining process information.

codecademy

Above is a screenshot of the Codecademy user interface. The left side of the screen is where they give you instructions, the center is where you type in the code, and the right window is where you can preview your results. This happens to be code for a website about sandwiches. Yeah Sandwiches!!

I started out with the Web Fundamentals lessons which begins with HTML and gets into CSS as well. These are the basic fundamentals of website design. After that, you can move onto jQuery which allows you to use basic JavaScript functions to make your website interactive. They advise you to learn jQuery before you start JavaScript because it is easier that way. I just started the JavaScript lessons which are more logically intensive than the Web Fundamentals languages. Overall, the lessons are fun and engaging, and the writing is very witty. The lessons are designed around the true beginner, and even though I already understand the fundamentals of programming it was nice to have “layman’s” instructions for the times it got a bit challenging. It really makes it enjoyable to learn how to code, which can sometimes be a drag. It also is one of the reasons why I wanted to start my own blog and website! I really wanted to do more customization than what this free blog can give me, but maybe someday if I get a lot of followers and more presence on the internet I can get my own domain name and have more freedom with the design. For now, this will do.

Anyway, if you have ever thought about learning how to code or dive a little deeper into your website, you should really check out Codecademy. It’s free so if you find out you don’t like it, it’s not like you wasted money on tuition or anything! Let me know if you decide to try it and what you think!

~Valerie

This is not a sponsored post. These are my own personal opinions of this service, which I think is phenomenal. 

Leave a Reply

