Chocolate-Chip Banana Bread = Noms

IMAG2317

There’s nothing more amazing than a warm baked good, is there? Banana bread in particular is one of my favorite baked goods. I love eating it right out of the oven, and it is still delicious as the days pass. I bought some bananas the other day and anxiously waited until they were ripe enough to make this delicious dessert. Here’s the recipe via Food Network:

Ingredients:

IMAG2305

1 cup granulated sugar
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature*
2 large eggs
3 ripe bananas
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon cinnamon
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract**
1-2 cups chocolate chips***

*I only had salted butter available, but it is just as good as with unsalted butter (and I usually use salted butter in baking cookies..I know, it’s weird). If you are concerned about adding salt on top of the salted butter, you can probably just leave it out.

**This isn’t in the original recipe but I love the taste of vanilla extract so I decided to add some in. I added roughly a teaspoon. Basically that means I poured some into the mixer until I felt it was enough. You can never have enough vanilla!

***This recipe also didn’t call for chocolate chips but I thought it was necessary! I eyeballed the amount of chips, so just put in whatever amount you would like! There ended up being less chips than I wanted in the bread but I was afraid to run out of chips and my boyfriend loves eating chocolate chips straight out of the freezer for dessert/snack/breakfast etc.

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 325 degrees F and butter a 9x5x3 loaf pan.

IMAG2307 IMAG2306

Top – Oven setting to 325 degrees F
Bottom – My lovely Kitchenaid stand mixer ❤

2) Cream the softened butter and sugar until creamy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each egg is added.

IMAG2308IMAG2309IMAG2310

Creaming the butter and sugar: before and after

3) In a small bowl, mash the bananas with a fork. Add the milk, cinnamon, and vanilla extract. (I added the vanilla in after the banana mixture and before the flour was added because I only thought of it then, but I would imagine you could add the vanilla here)

IMAG2311IMAG2312

Top – Mashing the nanners
Bottom- Add milk and cinnamon noms

4) In another bowl (medium-large), mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt (if you want to add salt).

IMAG2313

Dry ingredients

5) Add the banana mixture to the creamed mixture and stir until combined. Then add the dry mixture slowly and mix just until the flour disappears.

IMAG2314 IMAG2315

Mixing away…

6) Stir in the chocolate chips! I used Nestle Toll House semi-sweet chips, aka the best chocolate chips on the face of the earth.

7) Pour batter into the loaf pan and bake 1 hour to 1 hour and 10 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. (The baking time will depend on your oven settings. Mine was too underdone at 1 hour but perfect at 1 hour and 10 minutes. Some reviews said that it took way less or way more time. Just check on it once in a while if you’re concerned)

IMAG2316IMAG2317

Top- Ready to bake!
Bottom – In the oven, smelling and looking delicious!

8) Set aside to cool on a rack for 15 minutes. Then remove bread from pan, invert onto a rack, and cool completely before slicing (orrrr……you could eat it warm!)

IMAG2320 IMAG2321

Cooling on the rack…At this point I became impatient and couldn’t wait to eat it!

9) Serving suggestions from the original source: Serve with honey or ice cream. I like the ice cream idea! I wish we had plain vanilla in the house or I would have done this.

IMAG2322 IMAG2318

Serving suggestions from moi: Serve warm with a side of delicious Hefewiezen :]
Seriously though, the spices in the beer totally compliment the banana bread! This one in particular is SweetWater Waterkeeper Hefeweizen Ale

And there you have it! In my opinion, it came out awesome except that there could have been twice as many chocolate chips in there. Oh well, there’s always next time! I also would maybe like to substitute the flour for ground oatmeal and add peanut butter like in this recipe found via Pinterest. I’ll have to make them when the boyfriend isn’t home because I think if he saw me put oatmeal into the mix he would get upset! (He doesn’t like anything that is good for you in any way)

If you have any good recipes (doesn’t have to be related to banana bread or a baked good for that matter), leave a comment and share your link!

~Valerie

Leave a Reply

