Back to school, back to school, to prove to Daddy that I’m not a fool

backtoschool-billy

It’s about that time again: the start of a new school year! This is my last ever “back to school” time, that is if I don’t decide to go back to get another degree eventually–but that’s a post for another day. Right now, my mind is set on the typical “back to school” items such as new school supplies, clothes shopping, haircuts, paying tuition, organizing, planning, etc.

tumblr_mbctbbKcuZ1rxengk

This time of year has always been exciting to me because a new school year is like a fresh start: a new beginning. I feel like it has always been good for self expression. The summer was a time to reflect on who you are as a person and what you enjoy most in life. In the fall, you can go back to school and sort of express that to your peers/teachers/etc. I have always felt that way and I have even changed up my style to reflect that, especially in high school when most personal change and growth occurs. Over the summer between my freshman and sophomore year in high school, I managed to go from dressing very girly to “punk rock”, if you will. (Don’t laugh–this was the mid 2000’s and I was in high school, give me a break!)

tumblr_luc4k18iav1qcqxiro1_500

(If you don’t see this as a gif, click on it. It’s way better that way.)

Over that summer I did a lot of thinking about who I was and who I wanted to be and that reflected in my personal style. I’ve gone through that routine a few other summers in my life. Last summer, I was a fresh graduate with nothing to do but think. I was staying with my boyfriend who had just started his first real job. I didn’t have anything going on then because I knew I was going to grad school in the fall. I applied to a few internships but didn’t get any, and I applied to a few part-time jobs in stores but didn’t get those either. Before the school year ended, I had changed a lot because I knew I was not going to be in college anymore and I needed to grow up and start thinking about my future and realign my priorities. That summer I was really thinking about the person I wanted to be and the professional I wanted to be.

PortableTV_BillyMadison-620x336

Billy-Madison-I-am-the-smartest-man-alive

That is how I entered grad school, as a professional wanna-be. Over the course of the school year, I started to ease up a bit on the “professional” side and be more comfortable with the fact that I am technically still in college. I treated my first semester of grad school as my “job”, but what I really should have been doing is enjoying still being in school with less responsibilities. That is what I am trying to do now. I only have one year left of being in college, so I should really enjoy it! Truly, my only “adult” responsibilities include paying rent and bills (relatively cheap), making sure my house isn’t disgustingly dirty, and learning! Oh, and teaching/molding some young minds (I’m a TA).

pauly-d-meme-but-teacher

Okay, okay. It’s not Billy Madison or even remotely related. But how hilarious is this?! 

Until now I haven’t really looked at my experience here as a great opportunity to continue to learn independently. I have been looking at it as a “job” and haven’t been enjoying the time I’m spending here. So this year, I am going into my last year in school ever (maybe..) with the intention of learning as much as I can and learning exactly what I want to learn while I still have the time.

Billy-Madison-Warns-Of-THe-Horrors-Beyond-Elementary-Schooltumblr_m7pg0qRpLV1qb6t6wo1_500

Aaaaaand fast forward to second day of school…JK LOL SCHOOL SUCKS! GET ME OUTTA HERE!!!!

tumblr_lpyw2pNhaZ1r0w4bgo1_500

~Valerie

PS. This started out as a “Fall Fashion” post but slowly evolved into…this. My excuse is that I had coffee today and I am very much still awake even at this hour! (I’m a little ashamed to admit it is pushing 2am…At this point, I’m probably over-tired) For some reason when I drink coffee, even if it is early in the morning, I have trouble sleeping/falling asleep and I get very anxious. I should probably stop drinking coffee but it is so dang delicious!

PPS. I had a lot of fun googling Billy Madison memes. Maybe a little too much fun. Okay, last one (also completely unrelated to Billy Madsion):

Why-do-I-throw-all-my-passes-to-the-ground-to-hit-satan-tim-tebow-NFL-meme-200x150

Lolz silly Tebow

Disclaimer: I know you should always cite your sources, but I went on a “save image” spree and didn’t think about it at the time. I’ll go back and edit this post to put sources at a later date. Just wanted to let you all know of my honorable intentions. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

