Brie and Apples Panini Recipe

I’ve made this recipe before but slightly different than the one I’m about to show you. The original recipe is in this cookbook called “Panini” by Melanie Barnard. This book has a ton of awesome panini ideas which I have been meaning to try but I have so far only had the one called “Rustic turkey with brie and apples”. The recipe calls for whole-wheat country bread, watercress, lemon juice, fresh thyme, and walnut oil which I did not have and did not really want on my panini (except for the whole-wheat country bread but I forgot to buy that at the store). I think the last time I made this panini I was with my mom when we first got the book and we almost followed the recipe 100% but left out the walnut oil because my brother is allergic to nuts and we thought he might want to use the same panini press for a different sandwich. I can give you the recipe if you really want it, but I’ll show you how I put my twist on it this time. It really did turn out delicious, especially if you like brie!

Here’s the process step-by-step:

IMAG2471

Step 1 – Gather bread (I chose honey-wheat but whole-wheat would be good also), a Granny Smith apple cut into slices, and a wedge of brie sliced into rectangular slices

IMAG2473

Step 2 – Gather your smoked turkey breast cold cuts from the deli. I got Boar’s Head Honey Maple Turkey from Publix and it was pretty delicious on this panini, so I would recommend it.

IMAG2474

Step 3 – Preheat your panini press/grill to Medium-High heat

IMAG2472

Step 4 – Prepare your honey-dijon dressing. Literally mix honey with dijon mustard. I prefer Grey Poupon, but it’s really up to you (I know some people don’t like Grey Poupon…weirdos!)

IMAG2475

Step 5 – Slather the good stuff on your bread slices

IMAG2476

Step 6 – Place generous amounts of brie on top of your honey-dijon. Be aware that this cheese melts pretty gooey so don’t over-do it, but don’t skimp out either. This is America and we like cheese here.

IMAG2477

Step 7 – Top with Granny Smith apple slices

IMAG2478

Step 8 – Put some turkey on there and place the other side of the bread on top. I didn’t realize that I overloaded the panini just a tad. You may need to do what I had to do which was take the apples and brie off the second side and place it on top of the turkey like so. I didn’t really think this through much when I did this.

IMAG2479

Step 9 – The product before conductive heat transfer application (you almost forgot I was a nerd, didn’t you!)

IMAG2480

Step 10 – Place the panini on the press….

IMAG2481

Step 11 – Press it, press it good!

IMAG2483

Step 12 – Keep pressing…

IMAG2485

Step 12 – While you’re waiting for your delicious sandwich, I recommend indulging in some leftover apple slices with honey on them. So good!

IMAG2486

Step 13 – Okay, this looks pretty good, the cheese is all melty and the crust is (almost) browned. I gave up at this point, as I was hangry. That’s the technical term.

IMAG2487

Step 14 – If you have leftover apple slices like I did (it was a meal for one), you can make a pretty plate! I added honey to my apples as stated previously.

IMAG2488

Step 15 – Optional – Add your favorite white wine. 

Step 16 – Required – Ignore step 15 and drink your damn wine! Seriously though, I recommend a good Chardonnay with this meal. It really compliments the tartness of the apples and the sweetness of the honey as well as the honey-dijon and brie. Bascially, it compliments everything. And you get a healthy buzz going. So there’s that.

Alright, well I hope you try this recipe out and let me know if you like it. I really enjoyed it. It was something that my boyfriend would hate though, so I only get to make things like this when he’s not home. He’s more of a meat-and-potatoes kinda guy. Don’t get me wrong, I love me a good steak and potatoes but I do like to try things a bit “outside the box”. I think he’s missing out a bit 😉

Thanks for reading!

~Valerie

Leave a Reply

