Remember that time I said I was bad at blogging…

Yeahhhhh that. What happened was this thing called graduate school and another thing called a thesis. My life has been consumed with homework, projects, grading, trying to get my thesis project working, blah blah blah. Now I’m focusing on preparing to defend my thesis (the biggest presentation) and writing my thesis manuscript (the biggest lab report I’ve ever had to give). So yeah let’s just say I’ve been busy.

I’ve also been on the job hunt, since I’ll be looking to actually use my degree for something; one of the reasons getting a degree in the STEM field is worthwhile (a post for another day perhaps). I was a bit early in my job search when I attended my university’s career fair in the fall and I ended up getting 2 job offers! Woohoo! I turned one down because it was in the middle of nowhere and other personal things were not conducive to accepting the position (I’ll get to that in a minute) but I accepted the second position! I’ll be starting in June, which is great because that gives me a whole month after I graduate to hang out and do nothing! Well not nothing, I’ll be busy planning my wedding!!

That’s right, I got engaged!! My fiancé proposed to me in November at our undergrad university’s homecoming football game! It was actually before the game. We walked around campus and stopped to take pictures in front of the main building with a huge fountain in front of it and while we were standing up in front of the fountain to have our friends take a picture of us, he got down on one knee and proposed! It was a huge surprise but it was amazing! So needless to say, I’ve been busy wedding planning as well.

I promise once I graduate, I’ll be much more diligent with this blog. I’ve really been wanting to post, I just have to focus on writing my thesis right now. I’ve been dying to write about the Bill Nye vs Creationism debate that happened a few weeks ago. I haven’t had the chance to watch the whole thing but I have so much respect for Bill Nye (especially since I grew up watching his shows at school. It was always a great day when it was Bill Nye the Science Guy day!) so I can’t wait to see what he had to say in the debate. I’ll write up a post when I eventually get to watch it and talk about some important STEM things.

Ok well my fiancé is begging me to watch a James Bond movie with him so I’ll see you later!

~Valerie

Leave a Reply

